Book Details


Format

Paperback

Author

Tom Moorhouse

Publisher

Oxford University Press

Publication date

3rd July 2014

Author's Website

tom-moorhouse.com/

ISBN

9780192734815

Please note:

Adobe Reader is required to view extracts - click below to get the latest version,
get acrobat reader
Click here to tell your school about Lovereading 4schools Recommend this website to a friend 
Search
School name or postcode:

Schools Loginparents Login
FAQ

FAQ

The River Singers

Tom Moorhouse


Lovereading - -Year 6 (age 10-11)

More books from this list

Book 44 of 49.
View the next book in this list
View the next book in this list

Download Extract  

Julia Eccleshare's comment

One of our Books of the Year 2014   In the tradition of Kenneth Grahame’s The Wind in the Willows and Richard Adams’s Watership Down, The River Singers captures the desperate adventures of a family of water voles struggling survive as their habitat changes. Sylvan and his younger siblings are only just prepared for the world of the river when their lives are thrown into confusion following the violent death of their mother. Sylvan knows he must lead his family to a new home. Their journey takes them along the river which must now be their guide but the waters are treacherous and there is great danger all around them from the other animals that live along its banks.

A Piece of Passion from Liz Cross, Children’s Publisher, Oxford University Press  Among all the riches in the children’s book world, there are some books that stand out, some books that are truly special and I am delighted that we have found just such a book in The River Singers. Lyrical yet gripping… with characters that spring from the page fully-formed. Packed with witty, authentic dialogue, and filled with moments of genuine peril, this is a book to fall in love with.

Reader Reviews

Kids love to read and so in addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.

  • Alex Boulton, age 11 - 'This book is wonderful. It is full of happiness, sadness, excitement and action-packed adventure. All the way through you will be crying and laughing with joy and tears of emotion.'Read full review >
  • Ewan Young, age 10 - 'This story is brilliant, seeing the river through the eyes of a water vole is really interesting.' Read full review >
  • James smart, age 13 - 'Loved the book, I found it gripping and I advise it to anyone.'  Read full review >
  • Charlie Upchurch, age 9  - 'The River Singers is a wonderful, exciting adventure about a family of water voles in danger who are looking for safety. It reminded me of Watership Down.'  Read full review >
  • Sam Harper, age 9  This heartwarming tale has danger and excitement. It is both funny and sad and the characters are so believable that I felt like I was living the adventure with them.  Read full review >

Synopsis

The River Singers by Tom Moorhouse

There is a rumour spreading along the length of the Great River, warning of a mysterious new danger that will threaten all the River Singers.

Something was approaching the burrow. Something deadly. Something that made Sylvan's fur bristle with fear ...Knowing their lives are under threat, Sylvan and his brother and sisters have no choice but to abandon their burrow for ever. Together they set out on an epic journey along the Great River; but with dangers lurking at every turn, will they ever find a safe place to call home?

This is the debut novel from ecologist and water vole expert, Tom Moorhouse, who is responsible for reintroducing seven new populations of water voles to the Upper Thames.

Now available in paperback, this exciting and beautifully-illustrated animal adventure has the makings of a future children's classic.


Reviews

'A hymn to nature, written with compassion and flair.'  Lauren St John, author of The White Giraffe

'Just the sort of book I would have loved to have picked up as a child. I love the way Tom weaves in the natural history of the riverbank with a fast paced adventure.'  Gill Lewis, author of Sky Hawk

'With echoes of The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame and Watership Down this is a wonderful story with a classic, traditional feel ... An utterly lovely book and highly recommended.'  The Bookbag

'This book became one of my favourites. I was worried what Sylvan, his brothers and sisters would do next! There was a lot of danger in their long journey. I couldn't wait to turn over the next page because I was full of excitement.'  Momo, age 8

'The book was amazing - it was the best book that I have ever read. I felt like I was in the book. My eyes would just not stop reading. I will recommend it to lots of people.'
Lulu, age 9


About The Author

Tom Moorhouse lives in Oxford, where he enjoys the refreshing and perpetual rain. When not writing fiction he works as an ecologist at Oxford University's Zoology Department. Over the years he has met quite a lot of wildlife. Most of it tried to bite him. He loves hiking up mountains, walking through woods, climbing on rocks and generally being weather-beaten outdoors. Pouring words into books makes Tom very happy. His novels include The Rising, River Singers, and Trickster.

Tom talks in greater detail about The River Singers (this is an extended version of the video on the book page.)


To search for more books by Tom Moorhouse on Lovereading - click here


 

( ! ) Warning: Unknown: write failed: No space left on device (28) in Unknown on line 0

( ! ) Warning: Unknown: Failed to write session data (files). Please verify that the current setting of session.save_path is correct () in Unknown on line 0